A damp morning at Upton Country Park

Friday 13th September 2013

I did try to take Jez for a walk today – honest. And she wanted to come, despite the steady rain. So in the car she got, along with Max, and off we went to Upton Country Park. Only when we got there she wouldn’t get out of the car. No way. So I had to drive her back home, at which point she leapt out of the car and ran straight into the house. So much for her walk this morning. After that Max and I went back to the Country Park (fortunately it’s not too far – we can walk there if we want to). In a way it was a good thing, as shortly into our walk it stopped raining.

As we walked along the path towards Hamworthy I could hear a buzzard calling and calling. In fact it didn’t seem to want to stop. I soon spotted it on one of the electricity poles.

Someone was calling from the electricity poles

And here’s a closer shot of him (well, I say ‘him’, it could be a ‘her’ for all I know).

A powerful bird

Once again I have the Canon Powershot to thank for that photo – I would never have been able to zoom in as close with any of my other lenses.

While I was photographing the buzzard I spotted this spider in it’s rain-bejewelled web.

Jewelled web

A classic late summer / early autumn sight.

When we were at the Park earlier in the week there were men repairing some of the paths. At the time I was pretty pleased, as they turn into huge muddy puddles as soon as there is any rain. Today, though, I had second thoughts, and was wondering why they bothered. It looks as though we’ll still be walking through large muddy puddles this winter too.

Well that was a waste of time

By the time we got round to the shoreline the sun had come out, giving this view across the bay.

A tranquil scene

And back at the car park there was grass cutting in progress.

Cutting the grass

As you can see, it was warm and we had blue skies by then. Perhaps Jez should have come after all.

Leave a Reply

