More fungi and friends

Saturday 5th October 2013

This time on Upton Heath – yes, it was our now standard Saturday afternoon walk. But the sun was shining and it was a lovely day.

Cirrus and Cumulus clouds over Upton Heath

So lets start with the friends. First of all, we met the cows.

We met the cows on Upton Heath

I was very impressed with Max – he didn’t try and bark at them once today.

Then we bumped into Elsa the young labrador, seen here with Ann, Jez and Max, all queuing up for a treat.

Max and Jez with Ann and Elsa

And while we were talking to Ann our young deerhound friend came along. Now last time I said his name was Ozzie, which is what I thought it was. But I think I might have been wrong. I got the distinct impression today that his name is Oscar. I must try and clarify it with his owner. Anyway, he was as bouncy as usual, which meant Max kept growling at him. By the time I took this photo though, Max had thought better of it.

Max finally stops growling at poor Oscar, the young deerhound

Update: I’ve confirmed his name and it’s actually Osgar although he’s normally called Ozzie. Apparently one meaning of Osgar is ‘Lover of Deer’. I had to laugh though – another meaning is given as ‘Friend of the Deer’, not something Ozzie is likely to be.

So that was the friends. Now onto the fungi.

These mycena fungi were growing in the woods alongside the Roman Road.

Mycena fungi

While these Fly Agaric (Amanita muscaria) were growing on the verge on the Roman Road.

Fly Agaric, along the Roman Road

As was this somewhat chewed Amanita pantherina.

Amanita pantherina

On the heath I fuond a better example of this fungi.

Amanita pantherina

As well as the more orange version of the Fly Agaric.

Top and bottom

And a young red Fly Agaric that had been kicked over.

Fallen toadstool

Finally, in the pine woods near Beechbank Avenue I spotted this lovely little Tawny Funnel Mushroom (Lepista flaccida).

Tawny Funnel Mushroom

I hope I’m not boring you with all these fungi, as I’ll be off hunting them down on Canford Heath tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “More fungi and friends

Leave a Reply

