A sunshiny morning on Canford Heath

Tuesday 15th October 2013

Oh dear! Jez is falling back into her old ways. Just as I tell the vet that she’s really keen to go on morning walks again she changes her mind and chooses to lie in the sun instead. So that meant that it was just Max and I went over Canford Heath this morning, which has its advantages and we can walk at a faster pace and so go further in the time. Today we went along the path above the crematorium, then walked across in front of the old rubbish tip and through the woods the other side, before turning down the old Coach Road and then back across the Heath. First though, we walked through the pine trees, with the sunlight filtering through them.

Sunlight through the pine trees

Heading up the hill I found two small teasles by the side of the path…

Teasle

And this large Fly Agaric that someone has cut a chunk out of (I’m assuming its the one Chris was telling me about the other day).

Someone got hungry

It was nice and sunny as we headed up the hill away from the Crematorium.

Heading up the hill

I would have liked some shots across the Heath, as there was still some early morning haze around, but sadly they didn’t come out. So onto the woods, where I went and took a look at a spot where I know there are usually lots of fungi. There were – and all of them the very pretty Hare’s Foot Inkcap.

Hare's Foot Inkcaps

This was the view as we came out of the woods, looking down the old Coach Road.

Max on the old Coach Road

I say “the old Coach Road” but there seems to be some controversy about exactly where it went. A local website says it’s the path I always used to think it was, which is the main track from east to west across the Heath. But a Borough of Poole leaflet on the Heath says that it turns north mid-way across the Heath, which makes it this track you can see in the photos. So perhaps I’ll just call them both “the old Coach Road”, and then I’ll at least me right some of the time.

So, I’ll leave you with one final shot of the the old Coach Road, without Max in it this time (he’s off in a little stream behind the 3rd tree to the left, waiting for me to throw something for him.

The old Coach Road

Leave a comment