Pretty skies over Upton Heath

Friday 17th january 2014

We had some brief respite from the rain this morning, so much so that Jez decided that she wanted to come on our walk with us. I had originally planned to go to Broadstone Rec. if Jez came, but she had stayed in bed so I set off towards Upton Heath on foot with Max, only to be called back by Chris when she leapt off the bed and headed for the front door after us. So all three of us walked over to Upton Heath, which was very wet after all the rain. The sky was nice though.

Pretty skies over Upton Heath

It was pretty wet along the Roman Road where the water was streaming off the Heath, as you can see in this clip (hopefully, as it doesn’t appear on my preview_).

Meanwhile, back home in the afternoon, I thought I’d try taking some photos of the birds on my feeders using the zoom on the Powershot. Only problem was, once I opened the patio door and settled down in the doorway to try and get a shot, they all tended to disappear. I did get a couple of fairly nice photos though.

Firstly, one of my favourites, the Long-tailed Tits.

Long Tailed Tits

And then another, not quite so common, visitor – the Greater Spotted Woodpecker.

Great Spotted Woodpecker

I seem to be able to get some quite good shots with that camera, so I’ll have to have another go sometime.

One thought on “Pretty skies over Upton Heath

Leave a Reply

