A wet day for the Big Garden Birdwatch

Sunday 26th January 2014

For those of you who don’t know, especially those of you not in the UK, the Big Garden Birdwatch has been running for many years. It is organised by the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds, and involves volunteers from all over the country counting the birds they see in the space of one hour over a given week-end in January. I’ve done it for the past few years, and this year was no exception. So yesterday I filled up my feeders in anticipation of sitting down with a cup of coffee and counting birds while by bread was proving this morning. Which is what I did. Only it was very, very wet this morning. And birds don’t cope well in the rain. So I had less than normal, but nevertheless still managed 12 species. You have to count the maximum number of each species you see at any given time. Today I spotted 14 starlings roosting in the oak tree. But I also had 8 long-tailed tits on the feeders at one point. Here’s a little photo of some of those long-tailed tits for you.

The usual bevy of Long-tailed tits has turned up, despite the rain

In the afternoon Max, Jez and I went over Canford Heath. We didn’t get wet, but I didn’t take the camera as it was such a miserable afternoon. I did sneak in just one shot, over Poole, on the iPhone though.

JCL_140126_352

As for the Heath, it was the wettest I’ve seen it this winter. And there is more rain to come.

Leave a Reply

