A light shower, then sunshine

Tuesday 18th February 2014

As it was raining when we left home Jez thought better of coming with Max and I to Canford Heath this morning. I parked at Gravel Hill and we waded through the flood at the bottom of the steps. At least it’s subsiding slightly as in now a couple of inches below the top of my wellington boots. Then we turned up the hill before picking up the Crem. path. It gave be a good opportunity to get a couple of tree shots, like this one.

Pine Trees

And this one, looking towards Poole.

Canford Heath

Then the sun came out.

At the bottom of the steep hill the stile into the Pit Road was lit nicely by the sun.

Stile

When we got up to the old pit road itself (where the weigh station used to be), I saw that the cows had been corralled, no doubt for either testing or medication.

The cows have been penned

And finally onto a pond that both Max and I keep forgetting is there (I don’t know how Max has forgotten this one – he’s normally got a memory like an elephant when it comes to the location of water).

Time for a swim

He was happy swimming around in it though. It will be interesting to see if he leads me back there next time, as its only a short distance off the path.

Interestingly I had a chat with one of the men cutting down trees on the heath. He told me that they are removing the invasive Maritime Pine. I had to look this one up. It’s not in my tree id app on my phone, but I found it on the internet. It is also known as the Mediterranean Pine and is not a native to the UK. The bark looks very similar to the Scots and Corsican pines, but the shape of the branches and needles, plus the cones is different. I’ll have to try and work out the differences by looking more closely at the trees next time I’m walking on the heath.

Leave a Reply

