The River Stour and the tree of many faces

Wednesday 7th May 2014

This morning I had to get up bright and early to drive across town and take my Dad to the eye clinic at Bournemouth Hospital again. Being early it meant I got stuck in all of the rush hour traffic driving over there. But at least his appointment was really quick today, so it meant that I could drop him back at his flat and then call in at the garden centre, where I bought some bedding plants, and tomato and chilli plants, before coming home. Consequently I took the dogs for a walk in the afternoon.

Jez is definitely improving. We went to the River Stour at Cowgrove, and she was trotting out in front of me for most of the walk. It was good to see her looking as though she was actually enjoying her walk again. All of that running around meant she had to cool down in the river though. I call this photo ‘One in, one out’.

One in, one out

The weather was a bit mixed today. It was quite cloudy but we occasionally had some sunshine.

Cowgrove

There were no birds about on the river today, but walking along the path by the river bank I noticed quite a lot of comfrey about.

Common Comfrey

And there are loads of Celandines brightening up the landscape.

Celandine

Further on again and we came to the tree-of-many-faces.

The tree of many faces

I’ve taken a couple of photos again as I have quite a few new readers since I posted the photos of it last year. We have face number 1.

Face 1

And face number 2.

Face 2

And the Scream mask face.

Scream Face

It is such a beautiful old tree. I love seeing it.

Back at the little bay where the dogs play Max had another game of cone, while Jez showed us what she thinks about having to wait for him to play in the River.

Yawn

Despite that yawn she continued to be bright and perky all the way back to the car. I’m hoping this means that she is finally on the mend.

A year ago today

It’s an opportunity to share a photo of Jez having a rest in the shade in our garden.

Jez rests in the shade

One thought on “The River Stour and the tree of many faces

Leave a Reply

