I was rushing around a bit today

Saturday 17th May 2014

I think we’ve decided that we will be cancelling our holiday after all. I spoke to the company, though, and it looks as though they will pay out on the cancellation cover I took out, which would be good.

This morning, after a late and then restless night, I got up and did my cleaning as usual. Then in the afternoon I headed down to the hospital to see Dad. The plan had been to operate today, but that changed as they couldn’t fit him on the list. Unfortunately, visiting times on the ward he is on aren’t great (3-4pm and 6-7.30pm). I was pleased to see he was reasonably bright, if a bit uncomfortable despite the morphine. The view from his ward is rather nice though.

View from Ward B4

After the afternoon visiting I came home and took the dogs over to Upton Heath. As I didn’t have a lot of time, we only walked around the lower heath. Here’s Max waiting eagerly at the turn off towards his favourite pond.

Max waits patiently

The dogs had a play in the pond, and then we walked back through the old gravel pits onto the lower heath, where we met the Exmoor Ponies.

Exmoor Pony

Max was a very good boy and only barked at them once, not that they are particularly bothered by dogs.

We completed our circuit by walking back along the Roman Road, where Max and Jez went in the stream. Jez always likes to walk through the tunnel that carries the stream under the path, and I’ve been waiting for ages to get a half-decent photo of her as her head pops out the other side. Today I managed it.

Jez likes to follow the stream through the tunnel under the bridge

I think she’s the only dog we know that actually goes through that tunnel, and oddly enough she’s done it ever since she was young. Sometimes she will go backwards and forwards several times.

Once I got the dogs home I got changed and headed back to the hospital again. I made the mistake of parking in Poole Park and walking, so was exhausted by the time I got back home and finally managed to have my dinner. The good news is they are operating first thing tomorrow.

A year ago today

We went for a walk down the Baiter and Whitecliff Park, where the skies over Poole were a little bit dark!

Storm Clouds over Poole

One thought on “I was rushing around a bit today

  1. I am so sorry to read that your father is in hospital. I am praying the surgery went well. My heart is with anyone who is dealing with hospitals and illness. I loved this post, especially Max and Jez and the pony. Interesting about Jez and the tunnel!

Leave a Reply

