Jez and I pay a visit

Friday 30th May 2014

I’m talking about a visit home here. I had a morning doing chores and cooking lunch for Dad & I (he likes to eat his main meal at lunchtime, which has come as a bit of a shock to my system), and then in the afternoon Jez and I went home for a couple of hours. My big problem was fitting Jez in Dad’s car, which is a Hyundai i10 with a miniscule boot. I have a Clix car harness for her but it is worse than useless. The clip only reaches the seat belt anchor if she’s laying down which, of course, she didn’t want to do in a strange car. It would also have meant that she had to stay laying down and hardly able to move for the whole journey, which can take between 40 minutes and an hour. As for the boot – well poor little soul just fitted but again she wouldn’t have been able to turn around. In the end I tilted the back seats forward and left her in the boot area, but it wasn’t ideal and she wasn’t happy.

She was happy to be home though, although you can’t really tell it from this photo.

Jez peers out the patio door

And I would say Max was pleased to see us, but once again the photo belies the fact.

Max is underwhelmed to see me

While I have been away Max has apparently been honing his frog hunting skills. We think it’s to relieve the boredom where he doesn’t have Jez to ‘entertain’ him.

The master frog hunter at work

So he was keen to show Jez all he had learnt in her absence.

Max leads Jez in a frog hunt

While I was there Chris also ran me down to Poole hospital, who had phoned to say they might have found Dad’s glasses. I didn’t think they looked right, but took them all the same. Good job I did as it turned out they were his. He’s really pleased to have them back.

A year ago today

Max and I went to Upton Country Park for a walk.

View across Upton Lake to Poole

Leave a Reply

