Time for some Macro photography in the garden

Wednesday 30th July 2014

But first we had to go on our morning walk. As it was another fairly hot, sunny day we headed to the River Stour at Cowgrove. Jez seems to have got into the habit of coming on morning walks again, so she came along too.

This is a view along the river where we play.

River Stour at Cowgrove

And here is Jez in the water. The river has dropped about 3 inches since last week and Jez is struggling to find water deep enough to wet her back.

The river is so shallow now Jez can't find water deep enough to cover her shoulders

As we walked on round the path I spotted this lovely little wild orchid.

Wild Orchid

And then it was back to Eye Bridge and the car park. But not before I took this photo looking down river from Eye Bridge.

River Stour from Eye Bridge

When we got home I busied myself making some sausage rolls for lunch.

Making suasage rolls for lunch

And then in the afternoon I took the EOS 6D out into the garden with my 10mm lens fitted to try my hand at macro photography again. As usual the oregano was the best spot for visiting insects. There was this little Mint Month.

Mint Moth on Oregano

And this hoverfly (Eristalis tenax).

Hoverfly (Eristalis tenax) on Oregano

And, of course, the bees.

Bee feasting on Oregano

I had my biggest surprise over the other side of the garden, though, where I spotted a Banded Hoverfly. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen one before. They are the UK’s largest hoverfly at around 2cm long.

Belted Hoverfly

I was pleased with today’s results. I am still having problems with the focus, but my experiments a few months ago with depth of field seem to have paid off.

A year ago today

It was pretty wet. Max and I went to Upton Country Park.

A change in the weather

Leave a Reply

