Meet and greet by the River Stour

Friday 15th August 2014

This morning I had a dental appointment: to have a crown fitted. I had had the prep done a couple of weeks ago, at which time I’d spent about 30 minutes in the dentist’s chair. I thought this morning was supposed to be quick, but in the end I spent over 20 minutes in the chair again. The crown, on one of my back teeth, is fitted though (and at great expense!).

That meant that I took the dogs out in the afternoon today. I choose to go to the River Stour at Cowgrove. Now Jez had always been very reluctant to cross Eye Bridge (which is near the car park) as she does not like the slatted steps. She has been over once before though, and today she decided that there was so much going on on the bridge (from where teenagers were jumping into the river and making a lot of noise about it) and on the opposite bank that she had to go and investigate. This shot was taken from the bridge.

Afternoons by the river

Once over the other side Jez went into the river by the weir, where she met this young lab.

Meet and Greet in the River Stour

If you have been reading this blog for some time you will know that there is a ford across the top of the weir which you can walk across. We all walked across it last summer, so today Jez decided to go and have another look.

On the edge

That line you can see running out behind her is the edge of the weir.

Of course, Max was in the water chasing his cone as well.

Eventually I persuaded Jez that we should go back across the bridge and continue with our walk. En route we found this lovely bee on a comfrey flower.

Bee on Comfrey

On our second visit to their normal playing place I joined them in the water to throw cones for Max. While there I spotted a kingfisher. I had just focused on it when Jez headed in its direction and scared it off, so I didn’t get a photo. We were joined by some more canoeists, though.

More canoeists

Eventually I decided it was time to head home and get the dinner. Walking back along the river bank though, I glanced across the river at one point and was struck by the view in the afternoon sun (remember we normally walk there in the morning when the light is different). And this was the resulting photo.

Across the river

It’s surprising what a difference a few hours makes.

A year ago today

We went to Broadstone Recreation Ground where I took this photo of Jez and Max.

Jez and Max take a rest from playing ball

3 thoughts on “Meet and greet by the River Stour

Leave a Reply

