Our normal Monday morning walk on Upton Heath

Monday 18th August 2014

It’s not quite so warm at the moment, especially in the morning, but at least it was sunny for our walk today. Which made for a lovely shot of one of the Exmoor ponies in the middle of the boggy area on the lower heath.

Exmoor Pony on the lower heath

We walked on round to Max’s favourite pond, having stopped to say ‘Hello’ to our friend Bobby the Staffy first, and then, after a quick game of cone in the pond we walked back through the old pits and onto the lower heath. By the time we got there the Exmoor ponies had come across and were by the gate, which enabled me to get a lovely photo of one of them.

Exmoor Pony

I think that’s the pony that Jezebel has been getting friendly with. It always seems very curious to come and meet her when she’s close to it.

When we got to the birch coppice I started looking round to see if there was any sign of the fungi there yet, and low and behold, the Amanita pantherinas are starting to come out. This was the first one I saw.

Amanita Pantherina

And then I spotted this little one just poking out of the ground, all new and still perfectly formed.

Amanita pantherina

We walked back home via Creekmoor Ponds as usual, but the dogs didn’t go in the water today as the swans were right up by the bank. Jez didn’t care, but Max was most put out.

In the afternoon I had a person come round from a company that provides fitted and free-standing bedroom furniture. We have been wanting to change the furniture in my bedroom for some time now, and it’s starting to fall apart. I liked the product and the design he came up with, so I decided to go ahead, which is going to make quite a dent in my bank balance. Of course, that means I will have to decorate the room too, and I’m planning on getting new carpet in there. More expense.

A year ago today

Oops, looks like I messed up yesterday and posted a photo from the 18th August 2013 rather than the 17th August 2013 as I got the date wrong on the post. So here is the photo I should have posted yesterday, indicating that a year ago it was raining.

Rainy August afternoon

Leave a Reply

