Jez has been in a funny mood all day

Saturday 23rd August 2014

She didn’t want to go out for a walk with Chris and Max this morning, and she didn’t want to come with Max and I this afternoon. So it was only the two of us who went on our regular Saturday afternoon walk over Upton Heath. We started off by walking up the Roman Road (this photo was taken from under the old railway bridge).

Walking along the Roman Road

Then once we got up to Pinesprings we turned onto the heath.

View over the Heath

As we wandered along the path I spotted a stonechat off to our left, looking a little bit tatty for some reason.

Stonechat

We walked up to the Viewpoint and then round the back of the hill, where a rather strange site greeted us. Across the heath, in the tussocky- boggy area that has no paths across it and is virtually impossible to walk across, was a man with his two sons. And they were trying to take their bikes across this inaccessible area.

Stuck in the mud

I don’t know what they thought they were doing. As Chris says, there are no paths across there for a reason. And they kept having to lift their bikes up and over obstacles. I was pleased to see that they eventually made it to higher, drier ground though.

On high ground at last

I doubt if that’s a mistake they’ll be making again in a hurry!

After that we headed down across the Heath towards Max’s favourite pond. On the way I spotted this Grayling butterfly…

Grayling Butterfly

… and we met a lady looking for Gentians (the flower). She had found one, but it wasn’t open. I will keep an eye on it when I’m over there though to see if I can find it open and photograph it.

And so onto the pond.

Max in the pond

Don’t ask me how I managed to get a muddy, brown pond looking that blue!

Max and I came home and found Jez wide awake and running around wanting to play. So after a short rest I took both dogs out round Creekmoor Ponds.

View across Creekmoor Ponds

And if anyone is wondering whether summer is really ending and autumn approaching, I found these berries along the path behind the ponds.

Berries

I think they give us our answer.

A year ago today

Jez was in a funny mood a year ago too. We obvoiusly started off heading for Upton Heath, but ended up meandering along the Castleman Trailway and then back to Creekmoor Ponds. This is the Trailway.

Castleman Trailway at Creekmoor

Leave a Reply

