In which we meet the Kray twins

Thursday 28th August 2014

By which I mean two 12 week old black Labrador puppies called Ronnie and Reggie. For those of you who don’t know, by the way, the Kray twins were notorious criminals from the East End of London in the 1950s and 1960s. The two boys we met were a lot softer and more friendly, but I’ll come back to them later.

So today we went to the River Stour at Cowgrove. It had rained a lot again overnight, so I wore my wellies, which was a good job as it was pretty muddy in places. I was also surprised to see how much the river had risen again, and how fast it was. Jez came with Max and I today, and as soon as we got there she headed over Eye Bridge from where I took this shot looking downstream.

River Stour from Eye Bridge

It’s odd. Last year there was no way she would go over the bridge as she didn’t like the slatted steps. Now I can’t keep her off it!

Once both dogs had been in the water and Jez had had a good sniff around the opposite bank we crossed back again. As we did so, a couple of ducks landed on the river in a sudden flurry of wings and with quite a splash. Jez and Max were fascinated.

Jez and Max study the ducks from Eye Bridge

I hope, by the way, that you agree with me that that photo looks rather good in black and white, although oddly the original didn’t have a lot of colour to it as the woodwork of the bridge is grey where it has weathered.

Walking along our normal path these teasles with the sun behind them caught my eye.

Teasle

I also spotted a notice from the National Trust telling walkers that they would shortly be replacing the wooden footbridge along the path. It took me a while to work out where they meant, and then I realised that it was the little bridge over a stream just before we reach the place where we play in the water. Here is Max posing on the existing bridge.

Max on the footbridge

And just to even things up, here is a photo of Jez (again in black and white) waiting to come through the stile by the farm.

Jez waits at the stile

You may have noticed from the quality of the photos that I had the EOS 6D with me again today, so I took the opportunity to snap a photo of part of my favourite oak tree.

Oak Tree

And so onto the Kray twins, who were at the playing place when we got back there. Here they are with Jez.

Jez with the Kray twins (Reggie & Ronnie)

And I called this one ‘Whispering Sweet Nothings’.

Whispering sweet nothings

Now don’t ask me which is Ronnie and which is Reggie, but here’s one of them posing for me.

12 week old Labrador puppy

And here he is again (at least, I think it’s the same one!).

12 week old Labrador puppy

I’m hoping we’ll get to see them again as their car followed me virtually the whole way home, so I think they live somewhere near us.

A year ago today

I took the car in for service so Max and I went for a walk round Hatch Pond.

Hatch Pond

Leave a Reply

