A birthday lunch

Sunday 14th September 2014

Today was the day of Jezebel’s birthday lunch. I invited Dad over. It was a bit strange, as today is also Pat’s birthday, but as she is now living with her son and has family staying locally I assumed that they would take her out to lunch. So it was just me, Chris, Dad, Jez and Max today. As we had not had cakes on Friday I made Jez’s birthday cakes today. I tried out a new recipe for Strawberries and Cream cupcakes. The cakes have diced fresh strawberries in them, and are then decorated with a vanilla cream cheese icing.

Strawberry & cream cupcakes

They were a big success: really scrummy. I will be making those again!

After lunch Dad and I took the dogs around Creekmoor Ponds for a walk.

Creekmoor Ponds

Max is still limping badly at anything other than walking pace, so I have increased his Metacam dose a bit (on the vet’s advice we were giving him less than he can take for his weight).

I may not be finding many fungi on the heaths, but they seem to be thriving around the Ponds. I found these by the side of the path, but have not managed to identify them yet but I’m pretty certain they are of the Amanita family again and so poisonous. The Birch Bracket Fungi are also growing out of control this year, and there were some lovely specimens like this one.

Birch Bracket Fungus

Dad went home late afternoon, and I packed him off with cakes and leftovers. Then I had a bath and settled down to an evening of TV.

A year ago today

We went for a walk on Upton Heath.

View across Upton Heath

Leave a Reply

