A change to our routine

Monday 15th September 2014

Max’s limp is getting worse rather than better and a walk on Upton Heath would be far too much for him. So today we changed our routine and went to Broadstone Recreation ground instead. We only walked around the top half, avoiding the playing fields, and I kept Max on the lead all of the time except for one short stint where I let him off so that I could take some video for the vet. I have made him an appointment for tomorrow.

We haven’t been to Broadstone Rec. for ages, and it meant that I got the opportunity to take a photo of my favourite war memorial, as I love the angel on the top.

Broadstone War Memorial

But today I spotted something that I’ve not previously noticed: the dates for the First World War are given as 1914 to 1919, not 1914 to 1918. So when I came home I looked it up on the internet, and apparently this is common. The date of 1919 relates to the official end of WW1, when the Treaty of Versailles was signed (28th June 1919), and it is frequently used instead of the date of the Armistice (11 November 1918). So I learnt something today. It just goes to show how unobservant I am though.

As I said, we walked around the northern end of the Rec, throught the gardens and then round the Nature Reserve, before ending up back at the cricket pitch where I park. Here’s Max standing on the cricket pitch.

Max

And laying down with a chewed up cone.

Max hopes to play

And here’s Jez making it clear what she thinks of me pointing the camera at her.

Jez sticks her tongue out at the camera

As for the rest of my day, well its got to that time when I have to get the books for Chris’ company off to their accountant, so I’m going to have to spend a few days bringing them up to date and getting everything together.

A year ago today

A year ago today was a Sunday and so I had Dad and Pat over for lunch to celebrate her and Jez’s birthdays. Just before lunch I took this photo of Pat with Max. It’s my favourite photo of the two of them together.

Pat and Max

Leave a Reply

