My Mum was born 100 years ago today

Sunday 2nd November 2014

Today we have been celebrating. My Mum, Christine Hilda Harris, was born 100 years ago today. Sadly she died in 1991, but today was definitely a day for celebration. I invited Dad to lunch and we raised a glass in her memory. I din’t take any photos today. Instead I am going to share some photos of Mum with you.

The first photo is of Mum as a baby, with her mother and her older sister, my Aunty Maisie. (Mum is on the right).

Mum_Granny_AMaisie

And this was Mum aged 8 years. It was taken in Walton Street, Chelsea where they used to live.

Mum_8

Moving on, this is a portrait of Mum (or the right) with her best friend Frieda. Mum would have been 20 years old at the time.

Mum Freida 8Aug1935

Here she is on her wedding day, 12 January 1952.

Mum and Dad on their wedding day

Moving on we have me with my Mum and Dad taken on holiday in 1965.

Selsey1965

I’m not entirely sure when this next one was taken, but it’s sometime in the early 1970 and Mum was in our boat on the River Thames.

Mum in Boat 1200

This was Mum at our wedding in May 1982.

OurWedding_17

And lastly, one of the last photos I took of her, I think in about June/July 1991.

Mum

Happy birthday Mum. I love you and miss you loads.

Leave a Reply

