Sunshine! We have sunshine!

Monday 24th November 2014

We also had a slight frost, but only in the odd nook and cranny. Jez stayed snoozing in the sun while Max and I went over Upton Heath for our walk. I took a walking pole with me today to see if that would help my hip. I was surprised at what a difference it made. I was able to walk a lot faster and seemed to be more upright. So much so, in fact, that I when I got home I went out and bought myself a walking stick for those awkward moments like last night when I couldn’t actually put any weight on my leg at all for a few minutes after standing up. But I digress.

As I said, Max and I went over Upton Heath. There was some frost at the entrance to the heath, where I took this photo of the frosted nettles, but after that we saw no further evidence of it.

Frosted Nettles

As I said, it was a cold, but beautifully sunny morning, as you can see in this photo of Max.

Max

En route round the lower heath we came across the Exmoor ponies. One of them is a lot tamer than the others (its the one that likes to say Hello of Jez), so I was able to get quite close to take a photo. Unfortunately, where I had got tangled up with my walking pole, shoulder bag (for my phone & Max’s cones), the dog lead and the camera, the camera had got switched to the wrong setting, so instead of having a raw file to edit I only had a jpeg. The end result is ok though.

Exmoor Pony in the autumn sun

As we walked on the little birch copse was looking very pretty with the low sun coming through the trees and lighting up the wet, bronzed bracken.

Sunlight through the trees

And lastly for today we have Max: in the stream along the Roman Road which had gone all foamy for some reason.

Max in a foamy stream

I like the way that he’s caught in a shaft of sunlight there.

Sadly this weather is not going to last. Rain is forecast for tomorrow.

A year ago today

We went for a walk on Canford Heath. This photo is a bit of a sad one for me: it’s our friend Remus, who sadly is no longer with us. But I loved this photo of him.

Remus

Leave a Reply

