Max and I were lucky today

Thursday 27th November 2014

We got sunshine, on a cloudy day.

It was supposed to be cloudy all day, but Max and I went out for our walk to Upton Country Park in bright sunshine – and it stayed that way.

The path to Hamworthy

Of course, you didn’t notice the sunshine quite so much in the woods, but I did notice this fungi. I was attracted by the pinkish colouring and scalloping around the edges.

Pink Edges

When we got round to the stream we could hear an awful lot of geese honking on Upton Lake. By the time we’d walked along the path next to the shoreline they’d moved on, but we caught up with them again down in the lower gardens, where the bird hide used to be.

Upton Lake

Here’s a slightly closer shot – I rather like this photo.

Canada Geese

And lastly, one of Max by the gate just before we get to the lawns in front of the house.

Max

No sooner did we get home than the sun went in. And it stayed in, much to Chris disgust as it meant he had a more miserable walk in the afternoon.

In the evening I went back to the local fitness centre for a swim. On Tuesday, after years of not swimming, I surprised myself when I managed to swim 1km. Tonight I managed the mile.

A year ago today

We went to Upton Heath and met the Exmoor ponies.

Exmoor Pony amongst the birch leaves

2 thoughts on “Max and I were lucky today

  1. Your view today is wonderful again. It brought me back to the painting of Constable, the English painter who used to paint trees landscapes so wonderful you would want to walk right into them.

Leave a Reply

