A nice walk around Upton Country Park

Tuesday 24th March 2015

I decided for a change today to take the old EOS 20D with the 70-300mm lens on it. The cropped frame on the camera means I have a multiplication factor of 1.6 on the focal length of the lens. At times this cam be a real pain, as with a minimum effective focal length of 112mm there’s little chance for landscape or macro shots. But I did get some good photos, including of two special birds.

This is my first shot: of reflections across the far side of the lake. As you can see, it was a nice sunny day (which I really need given the lens I was using).

Reflections on the lake

I just about managed to get far enough away from Max to get this photo of him in the stream.

Cone Boy

As for the ‘special birds’, well I spotted a pair of Mistle Thrushes in the field. I was so pleased. I can’t remember the last time I saw a Mistle Thrush. I think this is the female…

Mistle Thrush (female)

… and this is the male.

Mistle Thrush (Male)

With the long lens on I took a slightly different shot across Upton Lake towards Poole today, by which I mean that the long lens gives a slightly different persepective. I have it on good authority (someone we meet called Dave with his very nice Leica binoculars) that those are godwits on the mud banks.

Godwits on Upton Lake

And lastly for today, a photo of one of the sheep and her lamb. I love the way these two are looking at Max and I, especially the little one’s stance and those sticky-out ears.

Just checking me out

It’s funny, you know, but until I started taking photos of lambs I never realised what great ears they have, and how the sun shines through them making them look such a delicate shade of pink.

A year ago today

Poor little Jez had slipped a disc a couple of days ago, and despite her pain medication just couldn’t get comfy. She kept trying to stretch her neck and back out.

Jezebel can't get comfy

Leave a Reply

