Max and I go to Canford Heath

Wednesday 3rd June 2015

There’s no post for yesterday, I’m afraid. In the morning I took Dad to the eye clinic, and then in the afternoon I was cleaning.

And so onto today, when Max and I went to Canford Heath. It’s easier to make our way onto the heath from Gravel Hill now as they have removed the fallen trees from the path.

Rhododendrons are an invasive plant around here, and have to be constantly removed from local heaths and woodland or they take over. Even so there are still large clumps of them around on Canford Heath and they are now in bloom.

Rhododendron

I tried not to do too long a walk today as Max is still limping quite badly. We avoided all of the ponds, and I didn’t throw anything for him as we walked, but I did let him play in the stream for a little while. After we’d crossed the stream I spotted this bird on a nearby tree, which I think is a Meadow Pipit.

Meadow Pipit (I think)

We headed back to the car and I couldn’t resist a photo of one of my favourite trees. Today I liked the contrasting lines between the heath, the blue sky and the cloud.

Heath, Trees and sky

And that was it for today.

A year ago today

Jez and I went for a walk on Hengistbury Head near Christchurch. These are the beach huts at the end of the head.

Beach Huts

Leave a Reply

