A sunny morning on Upton Heath

Friday 19th June 2015

Being Friday morning I started the day by going to Waitrose in Wimborne to do my grocery shopping. That meant that my walk with Max was slightly later than usual. It is now becoming my habit to walk him over to Upton Heath after I’ve finished the shopping, and that’s where we went today.

It was a lovely sunny day, and when we got to the ponds there were loads of dragonflies dashing around. The difficulty with them is trying to guess where they will land and then hoping they stay there long enough for you to get a photo.

The first pond (where there are also normally lots of newts) is the domain of a couple of broad bodied chasers. The males are a beautiful shade of blue, but alas one would not land for me. I did get this photo of a female though.

Femal Broad Bodied Chaser

We walked on to the pond where Max plays, and again there were several broad bodied chasers flying around, but none of them would oblige me by slowing down long enough for me to get a photo. The small weed covered pond nearby was a dfferent matter though. This is the Emperor dragonflies’ haunt, and one of the females was kind enough to stop to lay her eggs.

Female Emperor Dragonfly ovipositing

After taking a few photos I returned my attention to Max, who was standing in his pond intent on his cone.

Max is intent on his cone

Eventually we left the ponds and continued on round. As we neared the Roman Road we came across the Exmoor Ponies sensibly keeping in the shade.

The ponies are keeping in the shade

And then it was back home via Creekmoor Ponds so that Max could have a swim.

Can't you read Max?

And one last photo, taken by the ponds – a lovely Speckled Wood Butterfly.

Speckled Wood butterfly

What a nice walk it had been.

A year ago today

Jez and I came home from Dad’s for a couple of hours and I took this photo of Max.

Max looks whistful

Leave a Reply

