Turlin Moor Nature Reserve

Wednesday 15th July 2015

I don’t seem to have any photos from our walk on Monday (Upton Heath), and there were none yesterday as I didn’t go for a walk since I had to take my Dad to the eye clinic at the hospital. Today, though, Max and I went down to Lychett Bay for our walk. Rain threatened but it wasn’t particularly cold. I’m not sure how long the signs have been there (I’ve most probably missed them in the path) but apparently where we walk is officially Turlin Moor Nature Reserve. Whatever it is called, though, Max was happy to be there.

Max

As you can see, the grass and the reeds have grown up a lot since our last visit. That meant that they were attracting quite a lot of insects. Here are a few.

A rather splendid peacock butterfly.

Peacock Butterly

A caterpillar of some sort.

Caterpillar

A Marbled White Butterfly.

Marbled White Butterfly

And a Cinabarr moth caterpillar on a ragwort flower.

Cinabarr Moth Caterpillar on Ragwort

Some ragwort plants are just smothered in these at the moment.

There was also a roe deer down by the water’s edge across the bay. It disappeared into the long grass before I could get a photo of it though.

Moving on we came to the boats.

Becalmed

Where the bay was calm they were being reflected nicely in the water.

Boats

And someone has splodged bright pink paint on the side of that old rotting boat.

Pink Patch

We had a little game of cone in the water (I’m still being careful not to throw the cone so that Max jumps for it because of his elbows) and then headed back. By the bird hide, though, I spotted this little egret feeding.

Little Egret

And that’s about it for today. I hope you have enjoyed the photos.

A year ago today

Jez, Max and I went down to Hamworthy on a warm, sunny day.

Jez in the sea

Leave a Reply

