A two walk day

Thursday 10th September 2015

Chris was poorly today, so I did two walks with the dogs. In the morning we went to Upton Country Park, but I don’t have any photos from there. In the afternoon we went to the River Stour at Cowgrove.

We walked along the path by the river, and, as we approached the little bay where we play, I was surprised by the number of swans in the river. I think I counted 11 of them.

There were lots of swans near the playing place when we got there

I was a bit worried about letting the dogs in the water with all of those swans there. Max wasn’t in the least bit interested in them, though, and all he wanted to do was chase after his cone.

Max retrieves his cone

And Jez was a very good girl. Although she waded right out into the river she completely ignored the swans. Here she is coming back, with the swans in the background.

Fortunately Jez ignored the swans

We continued on round the loop that forms our walk. En route I took another photo of one of the faces on the old oak tree along the stream bed, as it’s been a while since I’ve taken a photo of it.

One of the old oak's faces

When we got back to the playing place by the river Jez had to go in and have a lie down under the reeds.

Jez lies down under the reeds to cool down

And then we headed back to the car. We’d had a nice walk, but I’m glad I don’t have to take them out twice every day.

A year ago today

We went for a walk on Canford Heath where I was busy taking photos of fungi, like this Boletus.

Boletus, Canford Heath

Leave a Reply

