Upton Country Park for the second day running

Friday 9th October 2015 (part 1)

I knew I had a busy day ahead of me today so I took Max to Upton Country Park again. This time I parked in the main car park though. Which was a piece of luck as I finally found some of my favourite Hare’s Foot Inkcap fungi there. They seem to have disappeared from all their usual places this year.

At last! Hare's Foot Ink Caps

We walked to the stream in the new part of the park and then headed on round to the lake. En route I found this silver birch in its autumn colours.

Autum has come to this Silver Birch

We couldn’t continue to the lake though, as they were tree cutting and the path was closed. They could have put a sign up earlier as we had to back-track quite a way and then go through the Woodland Walk.

After Max had played in the lake we continued on round the back of the park, where we met this lovely Bearded Collie called Kara.

Meet Kara the Beardie

And then it was on to the stream.

Max in the stream

We continued on round over the boardwalk where the view across Upton Lake to Poole was particularly nice today.

Looking over to Poole

And to end, here’s a bit longer shot from a little further along.

View ocer Upton Lake

After that we cut back through the gardens to the car.

I got home and sorted myself out, and then got in the car and went to collect Henry and Ariadne, our two English Pointer friends. I was to look after them for a few hours, but that’s a whole different story that will form part 2 of today’s post (once I finish editing the photos).

Leave a Reply

