Happy 60th Birthday Chris

Wednesday 18th November 2015

My husband Chris was 60 years old today. That’s pretty scary. I don’t like the thought of us getting old. But, I wasn’t going to let that spoil the day. So we woke up and had presents (we’d gone out yesterday evening and bought his main present: a new office chair, which will hopefully arrive in a couple of weeks time.

It had been extremely windy overnight, but nonetheless I chose to take Max down to Lake Pier at Hamworthy. Sometimes after high winds you find all sorts of interesting things washed ashore (like boats!). Today I questioned the wisdom of my choice as I got out of the car as I was nearly blown away. Not only that, but there was nothing interesting on the beach at all.

But what we did have was a mixture of stormy skies and blue sky, which made for some good photos. This one was taken from the beach looking back to Lake Pier.

Lake Pier As we were in Poole Harbour the waves weren’t very big, but they were quite foamy, and Max was a very happy boy playing in the sea. Happy Dog

As ever, once we left the beach and walked up to the cliff top the wind subsided. I know that seems the wrong way round, but it’s always the same here. I think it’s where the wind whips across the open expanse of Poole Harbour.

Anyway, we walked around the cliff top, and then went to Ham Common Lake, where Max had a nice swim, before heading back to the beach and the wind, which was playing havoc with Max’s ears.

Max's ears were getting blown about by the wind We walked back along the beach to Lake Pier. Lake Pier

And then we walked down onto the short stretch of beach between the pier and the marine base. There was a young guy taking photos down there, all kitted out with his tripod. Walking the dogs I don’t get to carry a tripod with me (I have too much else to carry!), so I just have to content myself with hand-held photos. I didn’t think this one was too bad though.

Boat After that we came home and had lunch. And then I embarked on my next project: a birthday cake for Chris. I roughly followed the recipe that Nadiya, the winner of this year’s Great British Bake Off used in the final. So it’s a lemon drizzle cake, filled with lemon curd and lemon butter cream and covered in fondant icing (which I’ve never used before). I was quite pleased with the result. Chris' birthday cake

And it tastes good too!

In the evening we had an Indian take-away, a bottle of Champagne, and we watched The Apprentice. So all in all I think it was quite a good birthday for Chris.

A year ago today

Obviously it was Chris’ birthday, and we went out to a local pub for lunch.
The birthday boy pulling a silly face

5 thoughts on “Happy 60th Birthday Chris

Leave a Reply

