Time for the Big Garden Birdwatch

Sunday 31st January 2016

Every year at this time I take part on the RSPB’s Big Garden Birdwatch, and spend an hour of my time on a Sunday morning watching and recording the birds that land in the garden. Here I am sat at the table…

Time for the Big Garden Birdwatch

That is a self-portrait, by the way, as I continue to experiment with flash. The Birdwatch was a bit of a wash out though. Although I did see quite a few birds there was nowhere near the usual number and variety, which I’m guessing is down to the weather. In the afternoon I took Jez and Max to Upton Country Park. Here’s Jez on one of the stepping stones in the stream.

Jez on the stepping stones

And one of the young calves took an interest in us.

A young calf watches us

A few yards further on there were a couple of the calves near the fence, so Max insisted on barking at them. But instead of frightening them it just made them inquisitive and several more wandered over. A young girl came along with her family and went up to the fence to see them: which was ok until one of them tried to lick her.

The little girl isn't too sure that she wants a kiss

She wasn’t very keen on that! Max looking on in that photo makes me laugh.

When we got on round to the gardens, though, Max suddenly started limping badly and couldn’t put any weight on his front left leg. I checked his paw and couldn’t find anything wrong with it. By the time we got home he was worse, though, so I’m guessing it’s an arthritis flare up in his elbow again. Fortunately he has a check up at the vet first thing so I can get him checked over.

A year ago today

We had a walk in the sunshine on Upton Heath.

Max waits by the pond

Leave a Reply

