A nice birthday

Sunday 7th February 2016

Today was my birthday. We won’t mention how old I am. The morning started with present opening, which Max had to help with.

Max helps me open my presents

One of the presents I had asked Chris for was a monopod for the camera. Chris hadn’t wrapped it as the box was so big. I was a bit confused as I knew the size the monopod was supposed to be, and, sure enough, when I’d opened the box and removed all of the bubble pack, this is what I found.

A big box for a little object

After that I had to get up and cook dinner as I had invited Dad and Pat to lunch. When they arrived, however, it allowed me to play with my off-camera flash cable.

Dad and Pat

We had roast lamb and pork for lunch, followed by sherry trifle, and then, later in the afternoon, I produced my Birthday cake, which I’d made on Friday and decorated yesterday. It’s another lemon drizzle cake, with lemon curd and lemon buttercream filling, covered in icing. It wasn’t decorated quite as well as I would have liked, but it tasted nice.

My birthday cake

Although my birthday was quite busy, I had a nice day. After Dad and Pat had left I was glad to sit down and have a rest though.

A year ago today

My cousin, Linda, and her daughter, Lucy came to stay. We went shopping and had lunch out and then walked around Creekmoor Ponds when we got home.

Linda and Lucy

2 thoughts on “A nice birthday

Leave a Reply

