I thought we were going to Upton Heath

Saturday 2nd July 2016

Once again there are a lack of photos this week, due to a combination of a lack of dog walking on my part and poor weather. So here we are in July and I’m still waiting for summer to arrive.

After heavy rain on Saturday morning (while my washing was on the line) and just before we went for our walk in the afternoon the sun actually made an appearance for our walk, although the wind still had quite a chill to it. I thought we were going for a walk on Upton Heath, and, in fact, I did park at Beechbank Avenue and we did walk onto the heath. But then Jez turned up the Roman Road and headed for Pinesprings.

Once at Pinesprings Jez settled down in the shade of a tree so I sat at the little picnic table there and threw Max’s ball for him. He had been in the stream coming up the Roman Road, and as you can see, was going to need a bath when he got home.

Mucky boy needs a bath

Jez didn’t seem interested in continuing on through Pinesprings and wanted to turn onto the housing estate, so as I thought it would make a more even surgace for her to walk on I put the dogs on the lead and we walked through the housing estate to Pinesprings Drive. Here Jez had to have two more rests. She seemed oblivious to all the traffic and at one point insisted on hanging over the curb.

Jez needs a rest

Most drivers seemed to find it quite funny that she was lying flat out on the grass verge while I was standing there like a lemon!

We continued on down the hill and then I picked up the Castleman Trailway.

Heading home along the Castleman Trailway

You can just about make Max out in the distance in that photo. We continued along the Trailway but didn’t get as far as the heath before Jez turned off again and we walked back through the housing estate to the car.

A year ago today

Well, actually a year ago yesterday, as I don’t have any photos from the 2nd July last year. So a year ago yesterday I took Dad out to Sculpture by the Lakes, near Dorchester in Dorset.

"The Chase"

Leave a Reply

