The river is the only place to walk on a hot day

Tuesday 19th July 2016

Today was supposed to be the hottest day of the year, and it got up to 29C down here. I got the dogs out fairly early and took them to the River Stour. We walked along to the big, shallow bay and then I joined them out in the middle of the river. Here’s Jez in the middle of the river.

Jez in the river

And here, something has caught her attention.

Something has caught Jez's attention

Max, of course, was only interested in me throwing his cone.

Max in the river

The trouble is, his tail splashes more than ever nowadays (I’m not sure why), and I got soaked every time he bought the cone back to me. I suppose at least it kept me cool.

I did get Max to pose nicely for me though. And I managed to keep the water from his tail off the lens long enough for me to get some photos of him: no mean feat!

Max

Jez didn’t want to continue on round today, so we made our way back to the car. I took this photo of some Hogweek flowers that were catching the light nicely on the way back, though.

Hogweed

Given that it was so hot today (well, hot for England anyway) you would think that I would do something sensible like take it easy when I got home. But no. I was busy cleaning and ironing for the rest of the day!

A year ago today

Jez, Max and I went for a walk along Lychett Bay.

Looking across Turlin Moor Nature Reserve

Leave a Reply

