We end up at the vet

Thursday 28th July 2016

Today I thought it would be nice to go to the River Stour at Eye Bridge, so that’s what Jez, Max and I did. Jez is still a bit stiff and sore so I didn’t expect it to be a long walk.

Walking along the river bank you could see all of the teasel starting to flower.

Teasel

We walked along to the bay where the dogs play and I decided not to join them in the water today. But I threw Max’s cone for him while Jez waded out into the middle of the river.

Max

I was surprised to see that a little egret didn’t seem at all bothered by her.

Little Egret

In fact, not only was it not bothered by her presence, but it was so intent on fishing that it kept walking towards her.

Little Egret

Fortunately Jez completely ignored it, and eventually came back to join me and Max.

She didn’t want to walk on round, so we headed back towards a car. By the cows’ field I stopped to chat to a lady with a Cavalier King Charles spaniel, and while I did so one of the young cows wandered over. Jez got very excited and managed to fall over! When she got up she would hardly walk and her left elbow was stuck out much more than usual. So she hobbled back to the car and I drove her round to the vet. Here usual vet came and saw her and thought it was most probably a slight sprain, and prescribed rest. She really is in the wars this week.

A year ago today

Max and I went for a walk on Canford Heath where there were lots of puddles.

Even more puddles

Leave a Reply

