Oh what a beautiful morning

Tuesday 30th August 2016

It was a lovely morning this morning, and as the tides were about right I took the dogs down to Lychett Bay for their walk. I wondered whether to park in the car park by the rugby ground for a change, but decided against it, which, as it turned out, was a good thing. So we parked near the viewpoint as usual and cut across the edge of the rugby pitches to Turlin Moor Rec. This was taken just as we were leaving the rugby pitch…

Heading through to Lychett Bay

…and this was taken just after we’d walked through the gap in the trees.

Turlin Moor Rec

Lychett Bay, itself, looked pretty stunning.

Lychett Bay on a still morning

We walked along by the reed beds to the little culvert where Max likes to get in the water (the banks are too steep for Jez now), but just before he headed in there I took this photo of him to show how bad his back legs are at times now.

Poor Max - his back legs aren't good at all

Poor Jez was getting a bit hot by this stage and we had to walk all the way down to the bird hide before we could get to the little beach where she can get into the water.

At the water's edge

Here’s Jez making ripples in the still waters in the Bay.

Jez makes ripples

And here she is heading back to me.

Jez heads to shore

Of course, Max just wanted me to throw a cone for him.

Max waits to play

And just to make you envious, here is my view from the little patch of sand I’ve called a beach (it’s only about 3 foot wide!).

Panorama across Lychett Bay

After that we walked on around Turlin Moor Rec and then went back to the rugby patches, where Max had a good roll.

Time for a roll

And then the dogs disgraced themselves. I was walking back to where we had parked by Jez must have heard noises and headed for the car park by the rugby club (where I’d thought about parking). Max, of course, followed. I soon found out why – there was a travellers’ temporary camp there, as usual strewn with rubbish and who knows what. Do you think I could get the dogs back. Eventually I got Jez on the lead, but Max was a nightmare. Once I’d got them back they got a good talking to and I kept them on the lead most of the way back to the car.

A year ago today

I messed up again with my last post and posted a photo from a year ago today up at the top of Upton Heath. Anyway, here’s Max in the same pond on the same day.

Max wants to play cone in a new pond

Leave a Reply

