Signs of Autumn on Upton Heath

Sunday 18th & Monday 19th September 2016

On Sunday I took the dogs up to the top end of Upton Heath at Corfe Mullen for their walk as usual. It’s a bit of a pain at the moment as the car park is closed and we are having to park on a busy road. We had a much longer walk than normal, taking in quite a bit of the heath, much to my surprise. I had been expecting Jez to walk to the big muddy puddle and back as normal so hadn’t taken my camera. Therefore I only have one photo from today – of acorns on an oak sapling, taken on my iPhone.

Acorns On

Monday morning I took Max over to the lower part of Upton Heath. It was a bit of a damp start so again I didn’t have the camera. But here, in the silver birch grove, the fungi are finally starting to appear. Here is a pretty little Grisette.

Grisette

And an Amanita pantharina nestled at the foot of a tree.

Amanita Pantharina

And that’s about it for today.

A year ago today

There were lots more fungi in evidence on Upton Heath, like this Fly Agaric. Fly Agaric

Leave a Reply

