We take Jez to Kinston Lacy

Friday 23rd September 2016

Today I had both Jez and Max with me. I planned to walk on Badbury Rings, but when we got there the Rings were covered with grazing sheep. One dog I could cope with, but two was one too many, so I drove back to Kingston Lacy. As you may know, Max and I have walked here quite a bit, but I’ve never bought Jez as well. There are two reasons for this: dogs have to be kept on a lead and it’s a bit of a pain having both dogs on the lead for the entire walk, and I’ve been worried it might be a bit too far for Jez to walk.

Jez was excited to be somewhere new though, and we set off through the Woodland Walk. I took a few photos along the way to give you an impression of what it’s like.

Photo number 1.

In the Woodland Walk (1)

Photo number 2.

In the Woodland Walk (2)

Photo number 3.

in the Woodland Walk (3)

And towards the end of the Woodland Walk we came across this sign.

In the Woodland Walk (4)

From this point on I would normally continue with Max through the gardens, but, as I said, I think this might be a bit too far for Jez, so instead we cut along a path back towards the house. This gave me diffent views of the house from those I’ve shared before.

I rather like this view of it framed by the trees.

Framed

And here it is nestled in amongst the trees.

Nestled

And a bit closer still.

A slightly different viewpoint

And the final one of the house.

Kinston Lacy House

I also took a photo of the second obelisk in the grounds.

Obelisk

This isn’t the famous Philae obelisk which is immediately south of the house. However, I don’t know where it came from as I can’t find out anything about it.

As we got close to the house Jez decided she needed a rest, so it gave me the opportunity to take some photos of the dogs. Here’s Jez.

 

Jez

And here’s Jez practicing for Tongue Out Tuesday.

Tongue Out

And finally, here’s Max.

Max

So, after an abortive start we had a very nice walk.

A year ago today

I found this lovely white brain fungus in Longmeadow Lane Woods in Creekmoor.

White Brain Fungus (fairly rare apparently)

Leave a Reply

