A different day, a different heath

Tuesday 8th November 2016

As Jez is still doing her ‘lying in the sun in the morning’ routine I took the opportunity to take Max over to Canford Heath today. I try and avoid taking Jez as she likes to lie at the crossroads in the middle of the heath and wait to see who comes along. Consequently with her in tow our walks there can last a couple of hours.

So, this was Canford Heath this morning.

An Autumn morning on Canford Heath

I finally found a nice fly agaric fungus this morning, which cheered me up. I’ve only seen one or two slug-eaten ones so far this year.

Fly AGaric

Here’s Max on the path in front of one of my favourite trees on the heath (I like the shape of it).

Max on the path

And here he is heading towards the stream.

Heading to the stream

I let him have a short play in the stream…

Max in the water-filled gully

… and then we cut across to Longfleet Drive and walked down towards Hotchkiss Cross.

Longfleet Drive

At one point I’d got a little bit tired of walking on Canford Heath, but it was nice to go back there for a change.

A year ago today

We went to lunch with my Dad and then went for a very cold, blustery walk along the beach at Barton-on-sea. I think you can tell how happy Chris was to be there!

A cold, blustery walk at Barton on Sea

Leave a Reply

