Ospreys!

Thursday 24th August 2017

On Thursday morning I took Teddy to Upton Country Park for his walk, but I did not take a camera as I planned to go out to RSPB Arne in the afternoon.

The reason for me going to Arne is that I am trying to see one of the Ospreys there. For those of you who don’t know an Osprey is a large, fish-eating bird of prey. In the UK they are on the Amber list of endangered birds, with only around 200-250 breeding pairs, mainly in Scotland. We normally only get Ospreys passing through on migration, but this year there is an attempt to persuade 5 young Ospreys that Poole Harbour is their home. The 5 have been bought from nests in Scotland and have been provided with a home at Arne. The idea is that they will imprint on the area and will return here to breed after their first migration.

It was a pretty overcast afternoon. Rather that head to the top of Combe Heath as I did last time I followed the Raptor Trail to the hide just off Middlebere Lake.

View from the hide on the Raptor Trail

I was chatting to a man down there who’d been there a while and hadn’t seen anything. But then another group of people came along and spotted a young osprey in a dead tree some distance away. It was shortly joined by another. I’m sorry this is not a good photo. It’s a very heavy crop, even with the 300mm lens on the camera, the light was poor and I didn’t have a tripod. But I did want to prove I’d seen them.

Ospreys! (Yes, I know - they were a little bit far away, but I saw Ospreys!)

And this is an even heavier crop of the same photo.

You can almost see that they were Ospreys

I was so happy, especially as the man I was talking thought let me look through his scope at them. After hanging around there for some time, feeling pleased that I’d bought some new binoculars that meant I got a half decent view of the birds, I headed back along the trail and out onto Combe Heath. Across Middlebere Lake a herd of Sika deer were grazing.

Sika Deer in the landscape

Here is a view over Middlebere Lake.

View over Middlebere Lake

As you can see it was pretty overcast. I got another view of the Osprey’s from here, who had left their tree and moved a short distance. Again, another kind man let me look through his scope. And one last photo for today – a panorama of Middlebere Lake.

Panorma over Middlebere Lake

The ospreys were off to the far left of this photo.

I came home feeling very happy, and had to do a little Osprey Happy Dance.

Leave a Reply

