Time for a visit to the vet

Tuesday 18th September 2014

Max is due for his half year check and booster, so he was booked into the vet this morning. That way I could have his leg looked at and kill two birds with one stone. He also looks to be starting a skin infection on his chest, so all the more reason to go. Driving to the vet I realised that I most probably knew what was wrong with him. He had stood with his right hind leg out slightly yesterday, and that is a classic symptom of a strained cruciate ligament. And guess what? That’s what wrong, so he’s on limited lead walks and we are increasing his Metacam dose to help. The vet also thought he should have a course of antibiotics for his skin. I’m going to use up some antibiotics I had for Jez and which then weren’t needed, and we will see how he goes.

So definitely no long walks for Max. When we got home from the vet I took him for a walk around the smaller of the two Creekmoor Ponds, which is closest to us.

View across Creekmoor Ponds

As we walked along the footpath I saw this lovely Speckled Wood butterfly sunning itself.

Speckled Wood Butterfly

When we got round to Max’s swimming spot the swan was there. This is a swan that was one of last year’s cygnets from the larger of the two ponds.

Swan

Max and the swan eyed each other up for a while and then agreed to go their separate ways.

Going in opposite directions

Later on I took Jez over to Upton Heath. I didn’t take any photos while we were there, however. After that it was back to cleaning and continuing of Chris’ company books.

A year ago today

Jez had a physio appointment with Rachael.

Unfortunately for Jez Rachael can fit in the corner too

Leave a comment